Fuerteventura before you book: the practical facts we checked
The practical layer under the ten hotel pages: how far each hotel is from Fuerteventura Airport and what the taxi meter and the Tiadhe buses charge, how the FV roads, the bus card and the Lobos authorisation work, what IGIC covers and what each hotel adds to the bill, when the island is warm, windy and dear, how money, tipping and the duty-free allowances work outside the EU VAT area, what British visitors need at the border, and what has changed in 2025 and 2026. Dated, sourced, and corrected when it changes.
Arriving: Fuerteventura Airport, and how far each hotel is
Fuerteventura Airport (FUE) is just south of Puerto del Rosario, with one terminal; the taxi rank and the car hire desks are on Floor 0, by arrivals, the buses outside departures, and Aena advises taking a taxi only from the signed rank. There are no fixed airport fares: a trip out of Puerto del Rosario runs on the Canary Islands' interurban meter, set by the Gobierno de Canarias order of 14 March 2023 (BOC 59). From 06:00 to 22:00 on working days the minimum is €3.85, covering the first 1.5 km, then €1.35 a kilometre; at night and on Sundays and holidays, €4.25 and €1.55; a trip to or from the airport adds €2.10. On that meter, by day, Caleta de Fuste comes to about €15, Corralejo to about €55, Costa Calma to about €90 and Morro Jable to about €120: estimates from the tariff and the routed distance.
On Tiadhe's island buses the driver takes cash, with no note over €50 or worth more than five times the fare. Line 3 runs through the airport between Puerto del Rosario, Caleta de Fuste and Las Salinas two or three times an hour, until 23:00; the capital to Caleta de Fuste costs €1.45. Line 10 calls a few times a day on its way to Morro Jable, €9.70 from the capital. Line 6 to Corralejo starts in Puerto del Rosario, €3.40, and some weekday runs call at the airport, €3.90 from there. Nine car hire firms have desks in arrivals. Drive times below are routed from the Aeropuerto bus stop on the terminal forecourt, with the roads clear.
- Secrets Bahía Real Resort & Spa, Corralejo
- 38 min, 37.2 km by car; taxi about €55 by day
- Barceló Corralejo Sands, Corralejo
- 36 min, 36.2 km; taxi about €55
- Corralejo Surfing Colors, Corralejo
- 38 min, 37.3 km; taxi about €55
- Iberostar Selection Fuerteventura Palace, Jandía
- 72 min, 81.2 km; taxi about €115
- El Mirador de Fuerteventura, Playa Blanca, Puerto del Rosario
- 5 min, 3.0 km; a short fare on the Puerto del Rosario town meter
- Elba Palace Golf Boutique Hotel, Caleta de Fuste
- 16 min, 10.6 km; taxi about €20
- ZEL Fuerteventura, Sotavento
- 64 min, 68.9 km; taxi about €95
- Paradisus by Meliá Fuerteventura, Sotavento
- 64 min, 68.9 km; taxi about €95
- Royal Palm Resort & Spa, Esquinzo
- 74 min, 80.0 km; taxi about €110
- Hotel Riu Palace Jandía, Morro Jable
- 78 min, 84.8 km; taxi about €120
- Taxi meter, working days 06:00 to 22:00
- €3.85 minimum covering the first 1.5 km, then €1.35 a km
- Taxi meter, nights, Sundays and holidays
- €4.25 minimum, then €1.55 a km
- Airport supplement
- €2.10
- Tiadhe line 3, airport to Caleta de Fuste and Las Salinas
- two or three an hour, until 23:00; Puerto del Rosario to Caleta de Fuste €1.45
- Tiadhe line 10, airport to Morro Jable
- a few times a day; €9.70 from Puerto del Rosario
- Tiadhe line 6, Puerto del Rosario to Corralejo
- €3.40; some weekday runs call at the airport, €3.90 from there
- Paying on the bus
- cash, no note over €50 or above five times the fare, or the BtF card
- Car hire in arrivals
- Sixt, TopCar, Avis, Cicar, Hertz, Payless, AutoReisen, Europcar, Goldcar-InterRent
Getting around: the FV roads, the Tiadhe buses and the Lobos boats
Away from the towns, yes. The FV-1 runs north from Puerto del Rosario to Corralejo, and the FV-2 south from the capital past the airport and Caleta de Fuste to Costa Calma and Morro Jable. El Cotillo, Betancuria, Cofete and the dune beaches south of Corralejo need a car from anywhere but Corralejo itself.
Tiadhe's lines visitors use most are line 6, Puerto del Rosario to Corralejo, every half hour for much of the day from Monday to Saturday, €3.40; line 8, Corralejo to El Cotillo, €3.10, or €2.05 on the direct runs; line 1, Puerto del Rosario to Morro Jable by way of Costa Calma, €10 for the whole route; line 5, Costa Calma to Morro Jable, €2.70; and line 111, from Morro Jable to Cofete and Punta de Jandía at 10:00 and 14:15, €8.70. The Gorriones stop, by ZEL and Paradisus, is suspended until further notice. Visitors can buy the BtF card on board for €5; it takes 10% off every fare and is topped up on the bus.
On foot, Corralejo's old harbour to Waikiki Beach is about 8 minutes. Morro Jable's promenade, from the lighthouse to the harbour, is 42. In Caleta de Fuste, the centre to the old tower at the marina is 13 minutes, and the tower to the Atlántico shopping centre 31.
Isla de Lobos is a short boat ride from Corralejo harbour. Every visitor needs the Cabildo's authorisation, requested at lobospass.com: it is free, personal, separate from the boat ticket and capped at 200 people on the islet at once.
- FV-1
- Puerto del Rosario north to Corralejo
- FV-2
- Puerto del Rosario south past the airport and Caleta de Fuste to Costa Calma and Morro Jable
- Tiadhe line 6, Puerto del Rosario to Corralejo
- about every 30 min Monday to Saturday, hourly on Sundays; €3.40
- Tiadhe line 8, Corralejo to El Cotillo
- €3.10; direct runs €2.05
- Tiadhe line 1, Puerto del Rosario to Morro Jable
- €10 for the whole route; €7.55 to Costa Calma
- Tiadhe line 5, Costa Calma to Morro Jable
- €2.70
- Tiadhe line 111, Morro Jable to Cofete and Punta de Jandía
- 10:00 and 14:15; €8.70; no reservations
- BtF card for visitors
- €5 on board; 10% off every fare
- Walk, Corralejo old harbour to Waikiki Beach
- 8 min, 0.6 km
- Walk, Morro Jable lighthouse to the harbour
- 42 min, 3.1 km along the front
- Walk, Caleta de Fuste centre to the tower at the marina
- 13 min, 1.0 km; the tower to the Atlántico shopping centre 31 min
- Boat to Isla de Lobos, Corralejo
- adults €17 return, children 4 to 11 €11, under 4 free; winter departures 09:45, 11:00, 12:30, 13:30, returns 14:00, 16:15, 17:15
- Lobos authorisation
- free, personal, at lobospass.com; separate from the boat; 200 visitors on the islet at once
- Parking at the ten
- free at Paradisus and Iberostar; paid at Barceló Corralejo Sands, price at reception; on site at Secrets, own car park at Elba Palace and outdoor parking at ZEL, no price published; not stated by Surfing Colors, El Mirador, Royal Palm or Riu Palace Jandía
Car hire in Fuerteventura
Do you need a car, where to collect it, what a week really costs and where to park at our hotels.
Read the car hire guideOpens Expedia’s car search at that airport for your trip dates, or for a week starting a fortnight from today. You book and pay with Expedia.
Taxes and fees: IGIC, no tourist tax, and the extras
The Canary Islands charge IGIC, their own sales tax, instead of VAT, and hotel stays pay the general rate of 7% under the consolidated IGIC law of 2025, Decreto Legislativo 1/2025. Quoted room rates include it.
Fuerteventura has no tourist tax. None of the councils of the ten, La Oliva, Puerto del Rosario, Antigua and Pájara, charges one, and the Canary government has not introduced one; the Lobos authorisation is free.
What goes on top is the board and the extras. Paradisus is all-inclusive only, though Bali beds and some extras cost more. Riu Palace Jandía sells only half board, with five nights or more on most dates; Royal Palm and Iberostar are sold on half board, Iberostar with an all-inclusive option. Secrets is sold mainly all-inclusive, with some half-board rates, and every spa service costs extra on every board. Barceló Corralejo Sands includes breakfast in every rate, with half board and all-inclusive above it; Elba Palace includes breakfast, and half board adds dinner for about €32 a night for two. Surfing Colors starts room only, El Mirador room only or with breakfast at about the same price, and at ZEL check whether your rate includes breakfast. The spas charge: Royal Palm's sauna circuit is €25 and opens three afternoons a week, and Barceló's admits only guests aged 16 and over. Golfers at Elba Palace pay green fees.
- Secrets Bahía Real Resort & Spa
- sold mainly all-inclusive, some half-board rates; spa services extra on every board; The Bay Lounge outside the all-inclusive; parking on site, price not published
- Barceló Corralejo Sands
- breakfast in every rate, half board and all-inclusive sold; spa extra, 16 and over, closed on Sundays; parking paid
- Corralejo Surfing Colors
- room only, breakfast can be added; surf lessons paid to the school
- Iberostar Selection Fuerteventura Palace
- half board, all-inclusive option; spa charged; Star Prestige for guests 15 and over; parking free
- El Mirador de Fuerteventura
- room only or breakfast at about the same price; half board for two from about €115 a night; parking not stated by the hotel
- Elba Palace Golf Boutique Hotel
- breakfast included; half board about €32 a night for two; green fees €93 for 18 holes and buggies €44 in winter 2026 to 2027
- ZEL Fuerteventura
- check whether breakfast is included; half board extra; kite and windsurf courses paid to the René Egli centre
- Paradisus by Meliá Fuerteventura
- all-inclusive only; Bali beds and some extras charged; parking free
- Royal Palm Resort & Spa
- half board; indoor pool free; sauna circuit €25, Tuesday, Friday and Sunday 15:00 to 19:00; private spa €100 for 3 hours; Bali beds from €50
- Hotel Riu Palace Jandía
- half board only; five nights or more on most dates; spa treatments extra
- IGIC on hotel stays
- 7%, included in quoted prices
- Tourist tax
- none on Fuerteventura
Seasons: the weather, the wind and when prices peak
AEMET's 1981 to 2010 normals for Fuerteventura Airport give an average high of 20.6°C (69°F) in January and 27.8°C (82°F) in August, and an average low of 14.7°C (58°F) in January. Rain falls on about 16 days a year, 98 mm in all; December is the wettest month, with 26 mm on 3.2 days, and June to August are dry. The sun shines for 2,836 hours a year, from 186 in December to 294 in July.
AEMET describes the north-east trade wind over the islands as blowing more than half the time in autumn, winter and spring and more than 90% of the time in summer, when it is at its strongest. That is why Sotavento is a kite and windsurf beach, and why its World Cup is held in high summer: from 17 July to 1 August in 2026. Calima, Saharan dust that hazes the sky, comes in episodes; AEMET says dust over the Canaries peaks in February, with a smaller rise in summer, and counts 1.7 episodes a year of three days or more in the islands, the most of any region of Spain.
Prices follow the northern winter. In 2027 the peaks are Christmas and New Year, the February half-terms, 15 to 19 February in Surrey, Puerto del Rosario's carnival, whose theme is the Reino del Invierno but whose dates had not been published by October 2026, and Easter, on 28 March. The cheaper stretches are May and June, and the autumn before the English half-term, 25 to 29 October 2027 in Surrey.
- Average high, Fuerteventura Airport
- January 20.6°C (69°F), April 22.9°C (73°F), August 27.8°C (82°F), October 26.1°C (79°F)
- Average low, Fuerteventura Airport
- January 14.7°C (58°F), August 21.5°C (71°F)
- Rain, Fuerteventura Airport
- 98 mm a year on 16 days; December wettest, 26 mm on 3.2 days
- Sunshine, Fuerteventura Airport
- 2,836 hours a year; 190 in January, 294 in July
- Trade wind
- north-east; over half the time from autumn to spring, over 90% in summer
- Windsurf World Cup, Sotavento
- 17 July to 1 August 2026; 2027 dates not yet published
- Carnival, Puerto del Rosario
- 2027 theme Reino del Invierno; dates not yet published by the council
- Easter 2027
- Sunday 28 March; 25 and 26 March are Canary public holidays
- Fuerteventura island holiday
- 17 September 2027, Nuestra Señora de la Peña
- Canary school holidays
- 23 December 2026 to 8 January 2027; 22 to 26 March 2027
- English half-terms, Surrey
- 15 to 19 February and 25 to 29 October 2027
Money, tipping and the duty-free allowances
Spain uses the euro, and cards, mainly Visa and Mastercard, are very widely accepted, though Tiadhe's buses take cash or their own BtF card. A shop or bar may set a minimum spend for cards if a sign says so, but Spanish law bars any surcharge for paying by card. Cash payments to a business must stay under €1,000, or under €10,000 for a visitor whose tax home is outside Spain. Prices must be shown with tax included, and in the Canary Islands that tax is IGIC, at a general rate of 7%.
Tipping is not obligatory, since service is included in the price, but Turespaña says tips are common in bars, restaurants, hotels and taxis, usually between 5 and 10%.
The Canary Islands are in the EU but outside its VAT and excise area, so travellers leaving them have allowances, as from a country outside the EU. Flying home to Great Britain, the allowance is 42 litres of beer and cider, 18 litres of wine, and 4 litres of spirits or 9 litres of drinks up to 22%, plus 200 cigarettes, 50 cigars or 250 g of tobacco, and other goods worth up to £390. Flying on to mainland Spain or another EU country, the limits are lower: 16 litres of beer, 4 litres of still wine, 1 litre of spirits or 2 litres of drinks up to 22%, 200 cigarettes, and other goods worth up to €430 by air or sea, €150 for under-15s. Neither allows alcohol or tobacco under 17.
- Currency
- euro; Visa and Mastercard very widely accepted
- Card surcharges
- not allowed; a minimum spend is allowed if shown on a sign
- Cash limit, payments to a business
- under €1,000; €10,000 for non-residents
- Sales tax
- IGIC, 7% general rate, included in displayed prices
- Tipping
- not obligatory; usually 5 to 10% in bars, restaurants, hotels and taxis
- Into Great Britain, alcohol
- 42 litres of beer and cider; 18 litres of wine; 4 litres of spirits or 9 litres up to 22%
- Into Great Britain, tobacco and goods
- 200 cigarettes, 50 cigars or 250 g of tobacco; other goods up to £390
- Into mainland Spain or the EU, alcohol
- 16 litres of beer; 4 litres of still wine; 1 litre of spirits or 2 litres up to 22%
- Into mainland Spain or the EU, tobacco and goods
- 200 cigarettes; other goods up to €430 by air or sea, €150 under 15
Entry: passports, the EES and ETIAS
The Canary Islands are part of Spain and of the Schengen area, so British citizens need no visa for a short visit: up to 90 days in any 180, counted across the whole Schengen area. The passport must have been issued less than 10 years before the day you arrive and be valid for at least three months after the day you plan to leave the Schengen area.
Passport stamps have given way to the EU's Entry/Exit System, which registers non-EU visitors at the border: passport details, a photograph of the face and, for those who need no visa, four fingerprints, though children under 12 are not fingerprinted. It began on 12 October 2025, came in border by border, and has been fully operational at every external crossing since 10 April 2026. It costs nothing and needs nothing done in advance, but the checks take longer, so allow extra time at the airport on the way home, where flights to the UK go through passport control. The record lasts three years.
ETIAS, the EU's travel authorisation for visitors who need no visa, is not yet in operation, and the EU says it will announce the start date several months ahead. When it begins it will cost €20, with under-18s and over-70s applying free, last up to three years or until the passport expires, and be applied for only on the official ETIAS website or app.
- Visa
- none for British citizens, up to 90 days in any 180
- Passport
- issued within 10 years of arrival; valid 3 months after you leave
- Entry/Exit System
- since 12 October 2025; fully operational since 10 April 2026; free
- ETIAS
- not yet in operation; €20 when it starts, free under 18 and over 70; valid up to 3 years
What changed in 2025 and 2026
The south has two new names on the Sotavento beach. Paradisus by Meliá Fuerteventura reopened on 1 August 2025, after Meliá and Banca March spent €32 million turning the old Meliá Gorriones, first opened in 1978, into an all-inclusive five-star of 363 rooms with an adults-only area, The Reserve. Next door, ZEL Fuerteventura, the brand Meliá created with Rafa Nadal, opened in May 2026 in the former INNSiDE by Meliá Fuerteventura, for adults 16 and over, and was inaugurated on 25 June 2026. On the Jandía coast, Iberostar Selection Fuerteventura Palace reopened in September 2025 after a renovation of all 437 rooms, and now takes families as well as couples, with a Star Prestige area for guests aged 15 and over. In Corralejo, Secrets Bahía Real Resort & Spa has been an adults-only Secrets since 1 December 2021, after a renovation of over €10 million, and at Caleta de Fuste the Elba Palace took its present name, Elba Palace Golf Boutique Hotel, in 2024.
On the buses, Tiadhe has suspended the Gorriones stop, by ZEL and Paradisus, until further notice, so plan on a car or a transfer there. At Isla de Lobos the Cabildo's authorisation remains free, requested online at lobospass.com and capped at 200 people on the islet at once. At the border, the Entry/Exit System began on 12 October 2025 and has run in full since 10 April 2026. No council on the island has introduced a tourist tax.
- Paradisus by Meliá Fuerteventura
- reopened 1 August 2025 after a €32 million repositioning; 363 rooms; all-inclusive
- ZEL Fuerteventura
- opened May 2026, formerly INNSiDE by Meliá Fuerteventura; inaugurated 25 June 2026; adults 16 and over
- Iberostar Selection Fuerteventura Palace
- reopened September 2025 after renovation; couples and families; Star Prestige 15 and over
- Secrets Bahía Real Resort & Spa
- reopened as Secrets 1 December 2021 after over €10 million of work; adults 16 and over
- Elba Palace Golf Boutique Hotel
- present name since 2024
- Tiadhe Gorriones stop
- suspended until further notice
- Isla de Lobos
- authorisation still free, at lobospass.com; 200 visitors at once
- Entry/Exit System
- from 12 October 2025; in full from 10 April 2026
Questions people ask
Good questions about Fuerteventura
How far is each hotel from Fuerteventura Airport, and how much is a taxi?
Fuerteventura Airport (FUE) is just south of Puerto del Rosario, with one terminal; the taxi rank and the car hire desks are on Floor 0, by arrivals, the buses outside departures, and Aena advises taking a taxi only from the signed rank. There are no fixed airport fares: a trip out of Puerto del Rosario runs on the Canary Islands' interurban meter, set by the Gobierno de Canarias order of 14 March 2023 (BOC 59). From 06:00 to 22:00 on working days the minimum is €3.85, covering the first 1.5 km, then €1.35 a kilometre; at night and on Sundays and holidays, €4.25 and €1.55; a trip to or from the airport adds €2.10. On that meter, by day, Caleta de Fuste comes to about €15, Corralejo to about €55, Costa Calma to about €90 and Morro Jable to about €120: estimates from the tariff and the routed distance.
Do you need a car in Fuerteventura?
Away from the towns, yes. The FV-1 runs north from Puerto del Rosario to Corralejo, and the FV-2 south from the capital past the airport and Caleta de Fuste to Costa Calma and Morro Jable. El Cotillo, Betancuria, Cofete and the dune beaches south of Corralejo need a car from anywhere but Corralejo itself.
Is there a tourist tax in Fuerteventura?
The Canary Islands charge IGIC, their own sales tax, instead of VAT, and hotel stays pay the general rate of 7% under the consolidated IGIC law of 2025, Decreto Legislativo 1/2025. Quoted room rates include it.
What is the weather like in Fuerteventura in winter, and when is it cheapest?
AEMET's 1981 to 2010 normals for Fuerteventura Airport give an average high of 20.6°C (69°F) in January and 27.8°C (82°F) in August, and an average low of 14.7°C (58°F) in January. Rain falls on about 16 days a year, 98 mm in all; December is the wettest month, with 26 mm on 3.2 days, and June to August are dry. The sun shines for 2,836 hours a year, from 186 in December to 294 in July.
Do you tip in Fuerteventura, and what can you take home duty-free?
Spain uses the euro, and cards, mainly Visa and Mastercard, are very widely accepted, though Tiadhe's buses take cash or their own BtF card. A shop or bar may set a minimum spend for cards if a sign says so, but Spanish law bars any surcharge for paying by card. Cash payments to a business must stay under €1,000, or under €10,000 for a visitor whose tax home is outside Spain. Prices must be shown with tax included, and in the Canary Islands that tax is IGIC, at a general rate of 7%.