Skip to content
The Better Trip

Destinations

Car hire in Fuerteventura

Two of our ten Fuerteventura hotels, ZEL and Paradisus on the Sotavento beach, are hard work without a car, since the bus stop at their turn-off is suspended, and at five more a car turns a beach week into days in the Corralejo dunes, Betancuria and Cofete. This is what to know before you book one: the desks at the airport, what a week really costs and what the price leaves out, the rules and the roads, and where to park at each of our hotels.

The short answer

You need a car on Fuerteventura for two of our ten, ZEL Fuerteventura and Paradisus by Meliá Fuerteventura at Sotavento, and it makes the dunes, Betancuria and Cofete far easier from five more; in central Corralejo and Morro Jable, Tiadhe's buses and taxis cover most trips. Collect it at Fuerteventura Airport (FUE), where nine firms have desks in arrivals and almost every offer has its car at the terminal. On expedia.ie on 26 October 2026, a week there cost from €71 with a manual gearbox and €82 automatic for 8 to 15 June 2027, and from €97 and €112 for the February 2027 half-term.

Compare hire cars

Fuerteventura Airport (FUE)Compare cars on

The island's only airport, just south of Puerto del Rosario on the east coast, in the middle of a long island: off-peak, Barceló Corralejo Sands in the north is 36 minutes by road and Riu Palace Jandía in Morro Jable, at the southern tip, 78.

Opens Expedia’s car search at that airport for your trip dates, or for a week starting a fortnight from today. You book and pay with Expedia.

Do you need a car? Two of our ten say yes

Not for a beach week in central Corralejo or Morro Jable. Barceló Corralejo Sands is 7 minutes on foot from Waikiki Beach, and Tiadhe's line 6 runs from Corralejo to Puerto del Rosario, about every 30 minutes for much of the day from Monday to Saturday, with line 8 to El Cotillo; Corralejo Surfing Colors is 5 minutes from the bus station. Riu Palace Jandía is 12 minutes on foot from the centre of Morro Jable, with a bus stop 2 minutes away; lines 01 and 10 link the town with the capital, and line 111 runs out to Cofete.

Two need one. ZEL Fuerteventura and Paradisus stand alone on Playa Barca at Sotavento, 47 minutes on foot from Costa Calma, and Tiadhe has suspended the Gorriones stop at their turn-off until further notice. Five more are far easier with one: Secrets, at Corralejo's southern edge; El Mirador, alone on Playa Blanca by the airport; Elba Palace, inside a golf estate whose free shuttle reaches the beach on morning runs; and Iberostar and Royal Palm on the Jandía coast, where little lies beyond the sand.

For the odd trip, taxis run on the meter. By day, the airport to Caleta de Fuste comes to about €15, to Corralejo about €55 and to Morro Jable about €120, estimates from the official tariff and the routed distance.

Car essential
ZEL Fuerteventura; Paradisus by Meliá Fuerteventura
Car useful
Secrets Bahía Real, El Mirador, Elba Palace Golf, Iberostar Selection Fuerteventura Palace and Royal Palm, for days out
Car optional
Barceló Corralejo Sands and Corralejo Surfing Colors in Corralejo; Riu Palace Jandía in Morro Jable
Tiadhe line 3, airport to Caleta de Fuste and Las Salinas
two or three an hour, until 23:00; Puerto del Rosario to Caleta de Fuste €1.45
Tiadhe line 6, Puerto del Rosario to Corralejo
about every 30 min Monday to Saturday, hourly on Sundays; €3.40; some weekday runs call at the airport, €3.90 from there
Tiadhe lines 1 and 10, Puerto del Rosario to Morro Jable
line 1 by way of Costa Calma, €10 for the whole route; line 10 calls at the airport, weekdays only
Gorriones stop, by ZEL and Paradisus
suspended until further notice
Paying on the bus
cash, no note over €50 or above five times the fare, or the BtF card: €5 on board, 10% off every fare
Taxi meter, working days 06:00 to 22:00
€3.85 minimum covering the first 1.5 km, then €1.35 a km; €2.10 more from the airport
Taxi meter, nights, Sundays and holidays
€4.25 minimum, then €1.55 a km

Our hotels: do you need a car?

  • An adults-only resort on Playa de las Agujas at Corralejo's southern edge, 37 minutes on foot from the harbour, with the dune beaches 10 minutes and Betancuria 57 by car; parking is on site, price not published by the hotel.

  • In central Corralejo, 7 minutes on foot from Waikiki Beach, with Tiadhe lines 6 to Puerto del Rosario and 8 to El Cotillo; hire for the Grandes Playas, 11 to 14 minutes away, and note the car park is paid, at a price given at reception.

  • Five minutes on foot from Corralejo's bus station and 16 from the Lobos ferry quay, and Protest Surf Center collects surf pupils from the door; a car is for El Cotillo, 26 minutes, and the hotel publishes nothing on parking.

  • Above Playa del Matorral with a bus stop 3 minutes from the street entrance, but little else on foot: Morro Jable is 8 minutes and the Cofete viewpoint 36 by car, and outdoor parking is free.

  • On Playa Blanca, 5 minutes from the airport, with little beyond the beach on foot and the nearest stop for express runs of line 3 a 10-minute walk; by car it is a central base, Betancuria 31 minutes and the Corralejo dunes 32 and the hotel does not state its parking, so ask before you arrive.

  • Inside the Fuerteventura Golf Club with no beach on foot: the free hotel shuttle's beach runs leave in the morning, but Caleta de Fuste's restaurants are 9 minutes and Betancuria 35 by car, and the hotel has its own car park.

  • ZEL FuerteventuraCar essential

    Alone on Playa Barca with Paradisus, with nothing but the beach on foot and the Gorriones bus stop suspended; Costa Calma is 6 minutes by car, Morro Jable 26, and the hotel has outdoor parking.

  • On Playa de la Barca at Sotavento, 47 minutes on foot from Costa Calma, with the Gorriones bus stop at its turn-off suspended until further notice; parking is free.

  • A gate, a paved path and ten steps lead down to Playa de Esquinzo, but there is little to walk to beyond the beach; Morro Jable is 16 minutes and the Sotavento lagoon 20 by car, and the hotel publishes nothing on parking.

  • Its own steps lead down to Playa del Matorral, Morro Jable's centre is 12 minutes on foot and a bus stop 2 minutes away, and Tiadhe's lines 01 and 10 link Morro Jable with Puerto del Rosario; RIU publishes nothing on parking.

Collecting the car: almost every desk is in the terminal

Fuerteventura has one airport, just south of Puerto del Rosario, with one terminal. Aena lists nine firms with desks on Floor 0, in the arrivals area: AutoReisen, Avis, Cicar, Europcar, Goldcar-InterRent, Hertz, Payless, Sixt and TopCar. A few offers come with a free shuttle to a depot outside the airport instead. On expedia.ie on 26 October 2026, of the 125 offers for a week from 8 June 2027, 116 had the desk and the car at the terminal and 9 used a shuttle; for the February half-term week, 115 of 126 were at the terminal and 11 used a shuttle. A shuttle adds a transfer at both ends, so allow for it before a flight home.

At the desk, the main driver needs a full driving licence, a passport or ID card and, normally, a credit card in their own name for the deposit: a debit card can often pay for a booking but may not be accepted at collection. Before you drive off, walk round the car with the agent, make sure every mark is on the condition report, and take photographs. Do the same, inside and out, when you return it.

Airport
Fuerteventura (FUE), one terminal, just south of Puerto del Rosario
Desks in arrivals, Floor 0
AutoReisen, Avis, Cicar, Europcar, Goldcar-InterRent, Hertz, Payless, Sixt and TopCar
Offers, 8 to 15 June 2027
125 from 12 firms; 116 with desk and car at the terminal, 9 by free shuttle
Offers, 13 to 20 February 2027
126; 115 at the terminal, 11 by free shuttle
Firms on Expedia at FUE
Avis, Budget, Europcar, Flizzr, Goldcar, Hertz, Keddy by Europcar, Orlando, Record Go, Sixt, TopCar, Turisprime
At the desk
driving licence, passport or ID card, credit card in the main driver's name, booking voucher
DVLA check code
for a licence issued in England, Wales or Scotland: shares your driving record with a hire firm that asks for it; made on gov.uk, valid 21 days

What a week costs, and what the price leaves out

On expedia.ie on 26 October 2026, a week from Fuerteventura Airport cost from €71 with a manual gearbox and €82 automatic for 8 to 15 June 2027, and from €97 and €112 for the February half-term week. Taxes, basic damage cover and free cancellation are included.

What they leave out is the excess, the share of any damage you pay before the cover takes over, and the deposit blocked against it, normally on the main driver's credit card. Goldcar's Spanish terms set a small car's excess at €2,300 and hold €950 of it as a deposit, and TopCar's deposit with basic cover runs from €900 to €4,000, by car and rate. Each firm's own cover, sold online or at the desk, cuts or removes both; cover bought elsewhere does not lift the deposit.

On fuel, choose full to full. Extra drivers and child seats can cost extra: Goldcar lists €10 a day per driver and €13 a day for a baby seat, plus 17% at FUE. A young-driver charge must be in the total price at booking, so give your real age.

Two Canarian firms with desks at the airport sell direct, not through Expedia. Cicar's Canary terms include cover without excess, extra drivers and child seats; AutoReisen's, zero-excess cover with no deposit, a second driver and standard child seats.

A week from FUE, 8 to 15 June 2027
from €71 manual, €82 automatic
A week from FUE, 13 to 20 February 2027
from €97 manual, €112 automatic
In those prices
taxes and fees, basic collision damage cover with an excess, free cancellation on every offer; unlimited mileage on 119 of 125 in June
Prices read
expedia.ie, 26 October 2026; 7 days, collected and returned at the airport at 10:00
Deposit
normally blocked on a credit card in the main driver's name
Excess and deposit, example: Goldcar
Spanish terms, small car: €2,300 excess, €950 deposit; €300 deposit with its Relax cover, none with Super Relax or Mega Relax
Excess and deposit, example: TopCar
deposit of €900 to €4,000 with its basic cover, by car and rate; no excess and no deposit with its Super Cover
Extras, example: Goldcar (counter prices)
additional driver €10 a day, up to €80 a hire (€11 and €88 in its busiest weeks); baby seat €13 a day, up to €117; drivers 21 to 24 from €9.95 a day, up to €109, for a small car; plus its 17% premium-location charge at Fuerteventura Airport
Fuel
full to full: collect it full, return it full
Young-driver charge
part of the total price at booking, so enter the driver's real age
Cicar, booked direct (Canary terms)
cover without excess; extra drivers and child seats free; drivers 21 and over with two years' licence; fuel deposit refunded if returned at the same level; desk in arrivals
AutoReisen, booked direct
zero-excess cover, no deposit or card pre-authorisation; second driver and standard child seats free; drivers 23 and over with two years' licence; return it with the fuel level you collected; desk in arrivals

The rules: licence, limits and the V-16 beacon

A UK photocard licence is valid in Spain without an international driving permit; a paper licence may need updating to a photocard, and a provisional one is not valid. EU and EEA licences are valid while in date. The legal minimum age is 18, but hire firms set their own: Goldcar, TopCar and Cicar ask for 21 and AutoReisen 23.

The drink-drive limit is 0.5 g per litre of blood, or 0.25 mg per litre of breath, and lower in the first two years after passing. Children up to 135 cm tall ride in an approved child seat in the back, unless other children fill the rear seats or there are none. A phone may be used only hands-free, with no handset or earpiece. Unless signs say otherwise, a car may do 120 km/h on autovías, such as the FV-1 dual carriageway towards Corralejo, and 90 on other roads outside towns; in towns, 50, 30 or 20, by the type of street.

Since 1 January 2026 the connected V-16 beacon has replaced warning triangles. The car's owner, here the hire firm, keeps it in the glovebox: check before you leave. After a breakdown, switch it on, put it on the roof and call 112 or the firm's assistance line. Outside towns, wear a reflective vest on the road.

UK licence
photocard valid, no international driving permit; a paper licence may need updating to a photocard; provisional not valid
EU and EEA licences
valid while in date
Minimum age
18 to drive; hire firms set their own, such as 21 at Goldcar, TopCar and Cicar and 23 at AutoReisen
Alcohol limit
0.5 g/l in blood or 0.25 mg/l in breath; 0.3 and 0.15 in the first two years after passing
Children
approved child seat up to 135 cm tall, in the back seats unless there are none or other children already fill them
Phones
fully hands-free only; no handset, no earpiece
Speed limits
unless signed otherwise: 120 km/h on autopistas and autovías (motorways); 90 km/h on other roads outside towns; in towns 50 km/h with two or more lanes each way, 30 with one, 20 where road and pavement share one level; 30 on unsurfaced roads
V-16 beacon
the only legal warning device since 1 January 2026; supplied by the car's owner; kept in the glovebox
Reflective vest
on when you leave the car on the road or hard shoulder outside towns
Documents to carry
driving licence, passport or ID card, the hire contract and the car's papers
Emergencies
112
On-the-spot fines
halved if accepted and paid within 20 days

The roads from our hotels: the FV-1, the FV-2 and the Cofete track

Two roads carry most of the island. The FV-1 runs north from Puerto del Rosario to Corralejo, and the FV-2 south past the airport and Caleta de Fuste to Costa Calma and Morro Jable. It is a long drive: off-peak, like every time here, Corralejo to Morro Jable takes about 105 minutes. Inland, the FV-20 leaves Puerto del Rosario for Antigua and the FV-30 climbs through Betancuria, 31 minutes from El Mirador, 35 from Elba Palace and 48 from ZEL and Paradisus.

North of Puerto del Rosario, the FV-1 dual carriageway takes the through traffic, while the old road, the FV-104, runs through the Corralejo Dunes Natural Park on its last 10 km into Corralejo, past the Grandes Playas: 10 minutes from Secrets, 11 to 14 from Barceló Corralejo Sands. Walk into the dunes only on the marked paths.

At the southern tip, a gravel track of more than 20 km runs from Morro Jable to Punta de Jandía and Cofete, kept up by the Cabildo. The Cofete viewpoint is 33 minutes from Riu Palace Jandía and 36 from Iberostar. Goldcar's, TopCar's, Sixt's and AutoReisen's terms all rule out or leave uncovered driving on unpaved roads, so read yours; Tiadhe's line 111 runs out from Morro Jable at 10:00 and 14:15.

Corralejo to Morro Jable
about 105 min by car, off-peak, like every time here
Airport to the Corralejo ferry port
40 min, 38.1 km
Secrets Bahía Real to the dune beaches at Playa del Moro
10 min
Barceló Corralejo Sands to the Grandes Playas
11 to 14 min
To Betancuria
El Mirador 31 min, Elba Palace 35, ZEL and Paradisus 48, Secrets 57
To the Cofete viewpoint, Degollada de Agua Oveja
Riu Palace Jandía 33 min, Iberostar 36, Royal Palm 44, the last stretch unpaved
To the start of the Cofete track
Royal Palm 18 min, ZEL and Paradisus 28
FV-104 through the dunes park
the last 10 km into Corralejo; visit the dunes only on the marked paths
Cofete track
more than 20 km of gravel from Morro Jable to Punta de Jandía and Cofete, maintained by the Cabildo
Tiadhe line 111, Morro Jable to Cofete and Punta de Jandía
10:00 and 14:15; €8.70; no reservations
Unsurfaced roads in hire terms
Goldcar: covers void; TopCar: paved roads only, damage not covered; Sixt: not allowed; AutoReisen: forbidden

Parking at our ten hotels, and in the towns

Two of our ten park you free: Paradisus, and Iberostar, whose outdoor car park costs nothing. Three have parking without a published price: Secrets, on site; Elba Palace, in its own car park; and ZEL, outdoors. Barceló Corralejo Sands charges, at a price given only at reception, and has an electric charging point. Corralejo Surfing Colors, El Mirador, Royal Palm and Riu Palace Jandía publish nothing on parking, so ask all four before you arrive.

In Corralejo, the La Oliva council is adding more than 500 spaces, among them a two-floor car park of 364 spaces by the bus station, put out to tender in October 2025. In Puerto del Rosario, the council stopped charging in its blue and green zones on 20 November 2025 while it prepares a new contract, so read the street signs, which may change. In Morro Jable, Pájara council signposted more than 400 spaces in July 2026, including the Barranco del Ciervo area near the centre.

Secrets Bahía Real Resort & Spa
on site; price not published by the hotel
Barceló Corralejo Sands
paid, price at reception; electric charging point
Corralejo Surfing Colors
not published by the hotel; ask before you arrive
Iberostar Selection Fuerteventura Palace
free outdoor parking
El Mirador de Fuerteventura
not stated by the hotel; ask before you arrive
Elba Palace Golf Boutique Hotel
its own car park; price not published
ZEL Fuerteventura
outdoor parking; price not published
Paradisus by Meliá Fuerteventura
free
Royal Palm Resort & Spa
not published by the hotel; ask before you arrive
Hotel Riu Palace Jandía
not published by RIU; ask before you arrive
Corralejo
more than 500 new spaces planned by the council; 364-space car park by the bus station tendered October 2025
Puerto del Rosario
blue and green zone charges stopped 20 November 2025 pending a new contract; check the signs
Morro Jable
more than 400 signposted spaces since July 2026, including Barranco del Ciervo

Taking a hire car to Lanzarote

Only if your firm allows it, and the terms differ. Goldcar's Spanish terms let its cars travel between the Canary Islands with its Cross Border cover, €12 a day up to €156 a hire, a little more in its busiest weeks. TopCar allows it only with its prior authorisation, which needs its Super Cover plus its Multi-Island Cover, €50 at the counter, and only to islands where it has an office, Lanzarote among them; the car must come back to Fuerteventura. Sixt's Spanish conditions forbid moving a car between islands without the firm's written authorisation, and AutoReisen's terms say the same.

The crossing readers make is Corralejo to Playa Blanca, at Lanzarote's southern tip. Fred. Olsen Express sails it in 25 minutes by fast ferry, with 13 sailings each way on weekdays and 11 at weekends; its Bocayna Express takes cars. Baleària Canarias, the former Naviera Armas, takes about 35 minutes. Car fares vary with the date, so price the crossing when you book. With a hire car on Fred. Olsen, enter 'Hire' as the make and model and 0000XXX as the plate, and send the real details no later than an hour before you sail. The port is 5 minutes by car from Barceló Corralejo Sands, off-peak.

The alternative is to cross as a foot passenger and hire a second car on Lanzarote.

Goldcar
between the Canary Islands with its Cross Border cover: €12 a day, up to €156 a hire (€13.20 and €171.60 in its busiest weeks), plus its 17% premium-location charge at Fuerteventura Airport
TopCar
only with its authorisation, Super Cover and Multi-Island Cover (€50 at the counter), to islands with a TopCar office, Lanzarote included; the car comes back to Fuerteventura
Sixt
not between islands without written authorisation
AutoReisen
not off the island without written authorisation
Fred. Olsen Express, Corralejo to Playa Blanca
25 min by fast ferry, 35 by ferry; 13 sailings each way on weekdays, 11 at weekends; cars on the Bocayna Express
Baleària Canarias (former Naviera Armas), Corralejo to Playa Blanca
about 35 min on the Volcán de Tindaya; 7 departures a day, 8 on Wednesdays, 6 on Sundays
Booking with a hire car (Fred. Olsen)
make 'Hire', plate 0000XXX; real details at least an hour before departure
To the Corralejo ferry port, by car
2 min from Corralejo Surfing Colors, 5 from Barceló Corralejo Sands, 40 from the airport

Questions people ask

Good questions about Fuerteventura

Do I need a car in Fuerteventura?

Not if you stay in central Corralejo or Morro Jable: Tiadhe's line 6 links Corralejo with Puerto del Rosario about every half hour from Monday to Saturday, line 8 runs to El Cotillo, and lines 01 and 10 join Morro Jable to the capital. You do need one at Sotavento, where ZEL and Paradisus stand alone and the Gorriones bus stop at their turn-off is suspended. A car also puts the Corralejo dunes, Betancuria and the Cofete viewpoint within an easy day, on your own timetable.

Is car hire at Fuerteventura airport in the terminal?

Almost all of it. Aena lists nine firms with desks on Floor 0, in the arrivals area of the single terminal: AutoReisen, Avis, Cicar, Europcar, Goldcar-InterRent, Hertz, Payless, Sixt and TopCar. On expedia.ie on 26 October 2026, 116 of the 125 offers for a week from 8 June 2027 had the desk and the car at the terminal, and 9 used a free shuttle to a depot outside the airport; for the February 2027 half-term, 115 of 126 were at the terminal.

How much is car hire in Fuerteventura?

On expedia.ie on 26 October 2026, a week from Fuerteventura Airport cost from €71 with a manual gearbox and €82 automatic for 8 to 15 June 2027, and from €97 and €112 for the February half-term week, 13 to 20 February 2027, with taxes, basic damage cover and free cancellation included. On top come fuel, extras such as a child seat or a second driver, and either the firm's own excess cover or a deposit blocked on a credit card.

Can I drive a hire car to Cofete?

The road to Cofete is a gravel track of more than 20 km from Morro Jable, kept up by the Cabildo, and most hire terms do not cover it. Goldcar's protections do not apply on unpaved roads, TopCar's cars are for paved roads only, Sixt does not allow them and AutoReisen forbids them, so read your own contract first. The simple alternative is Tiadhe's line 111, which leaves Morro Jable at 10:00 and 14:15 for Cofete and Punta de Jandía, €8.70, with no reservations.

Is it easy to drive in Fuerteventura?

Yes, for the most part. Two main roads do most of the work: the FV-1 north from Puerto del Rosario to Corralejo, a dual carriageway for the through traffic, and the FV-2 south past the airport to Costa Calma and Morro Jable. The distances are the challenge: Corralejo to Morro Jable is about 105 minutes off-peak. Since 1 January 2026, the hire firm supplies a V-16 beacon in place of warning triangles; check the glovebox before you leave.

Last checked: October 2026